Saving and discussing different proposals with your team is often a challenging task for designers. Arkio was built around the idea to make it easier to create, switch and share design options using the models viewer. This allows options to be explored when ideas arise and adjustments to be made on the fly.
The models viewer is found under the utilities menu at the bottom of the main menu. It gives an overview of all your local models and enables you to easily create a new model, duplicate an existing model, delete a model, or export it to Revit or OBJ.
When new to Arkio we recommend starting off with a tutorial model found in your models viewer. Here you will find basic instructions on how to use Arkio in VR.
Switching between models can be done by using the trigger on the model plateau you like to make active. This will save your current model and highlight the active model plateau.
You can duplicate the entire model. All the objects and properties of that model will be copied over and you can explore and make some adjustments, create several alternatives or revert back to your older model if you like to explore the differences from different viewing points.
When you create a new model you start with an empty default worktable of 500x320 meters to work with. On this worktable, you can start with a map underlay of the site to get a better understanding of the scale of your site or you can load a custom 3D model on the table as a base for your creation.
Everything you do in Arkio is automatically saved and backed-up. So you can close the app, run out of battery or lose internet connection at any moment without having to worry about your work. You can also go back in time to find older versions of models in history. In this mode, automatic backups of models can be restored by selecting the wanted model (yellow highlight) and pressing the restore button.
You can see all changes to your model in real-time on the model viewer, so if you teleport to human scale you can easily toggle between your different design options while keeping an overview in front of you.
Custom content like loaded images, 3D models, map data, and props are not visible in the models viewer but are shared with all meeting participants (from the Meeting Master ) so everyone's always working and looking at the same scene. Arkio only shares your active scene when you start a meeting with participants using the same Company ID and Room name, no models are stored in the cloud. This way you are in control of your data and can also work on your projects offline.
When updating from an older version of Arkio or ending up with a corruption in your model the plateau will show red on the viewer, this model, unfortunately, is no longer usable and needs to be recreated or restored from a recent backup.